Guillotine – Part I

I came up with the idea to start this blog while I was working to repair this bad boy…

Not a bad Christmas present...

This was rusting out in front of my uncle's house for about two years before I discovered it last week.

I’m a scientist/engineer by trade, but I try to incorporate creative pursuits into my life as much as I can. In this blog I aim to explore and share these efforts, which may range from bread baking to bookbinding, fashion floundering to machinery meddling.

To begin, here are some photos of a guillotine paper cutter that I’m fixing up.

WD40 rarely ceases to amaze.

I was having issues moving the stage.

Everything moved like it should, except the stage. The traveling stage, at the bottom of the picture, is what allows you to measure out how much paper you want to cut. Instead of moving back and forth, the stage would pivot on an axis in the plane of the bed and perpendicular to its direction of travel.

It helps when your other uncle has drawers full of socket wrenches.

It helps when your other uncle has drawers full of socket wrenches.

Armed with WD40 and wrenches, I managed to liberate the traveling stage from its mount. The bottom of the mount is threaded through, and so the mount remained fixed in the track running through the middle of the bed.

The next step was to remove the thread…

Socket wrench, I couldn't have done it without you.

This thread still needs to be removed.

The plan is to take it all apart, clean it in naval jelly to strip away all the rust, and then put it back together, sealed with butcher’s wax to keep it clean.

After that, I’ll need to find a replacement blade, or someone who can sharpen this one…

One response

  1. Pingback: Guillotine – Part II | oxfords and grease

Leave a Reply

