Lab Notebooks – Part I

I work in lab. A few months ago I decided, from that point on, to make every laboratory notebook that I would use. The first notebook came out like this:

To my delight, I was able to make this entirely from extra materials lying around in the Walter Feldman Book Arts Studio at Brown University.

The white stripe was actually an afterthought, but I really enjoy how it came out.

Of course, I filled up all 48 sheets rather quickly.

My new notebook is going to have smaller sized leaves (5 1/2″ by 8 1/2″), but 96 of them. Right now I’ve only sewn the signatures.

The endsheets are handmade by a friend of mine, using potatoes.

More to come after I build the cover.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

